Hi , you are logged in. Logout here.


Honorary Members & Awards

ARANZ recognises exceptional achievement and service to the association and contributions to the profession in three ways, via the periodic bestowing of honorary life memberships, the awarding of an annual prize for an outstanding essay, and an outstanding piece of published writing that utilises archives and records.

Honorary Life Memberships

Since 1976, in recognition of either their 'outstanding service commensurate with the objects of the Association', the following have been elected to Honorary Life Membership of the Association.

Year Awarded Recipient
1978 Tom Wilsted
1980 Brad Patterson
1982 Ian Wards
1988 Stuart Strachan
1989 Jack Churchouse
2001 Kathryn Patterson
2001 Therese Angelo
2006 Dr The Hon Michael Cullen
2008 Peter Miller
2009 John Timmins

Peter Miller accepts the ARANZ Life Membership Award during the Dunedin Conference 2008

John Timmins accepts his ARANZ Life Membership Award during the Wellington Seminar & AGM 2009

Top of the page

The Michael Standish Prize

This award, first offered in 2001, is named in honour of Michael Standish, architect of the 1957 Archives Act and the first permanent Chief Archivist of National Archives.

The prize recognises an outstanding essay, by a New Zealand archivist or records manager, dealing with some facet of archives or records administration, history, theory and/or methodology, and published in a recognised archives, records management, or other appropriate journal.

Year Awarded Recipient Essay Title
2001 Janine Delaney Redefining the Role for Collecting Archives in an Electronic Paradigm
2002 not awarded -
2003 Chris Hurley Recordkeeping, Document Destruction,and the Law (published in Archives & Manuscripts, Nov, 2002).
2004 not awarded -
2005 Adam Stapleton Continuum in Context: Post-Eighteenth Century Archival Theory and the Records Continuum Model(published in Archifacts April 2005)
2006 David Colquhoun "The pioneers are steadily passing to the great beyond" : early collecting and the National Historical Collection (published in Archifacts October 2005.)
2007 not awarded
2008 not awarded
2009 Virginia Gow

“One prison cell per government department”? An overview of the post-modern approach to archival theory. (published in Archifacts, 2008)

2010 not awarded
2011 Kay Sanderson

Personal archives and chaotic conceptions (published in Archifacts, October 2010)


Top of the page



The Ian McLean Wards Memorial Trust is pleased to announce the establishment of an annual scholarship to assist researchers and practitioners in the librarianship, archives and records management fields to undertake research for a specific project advancing knowledge or improving practice relating to the recording, care, or conservation, of historical research materials. The primary purpose of the scholarship is to defray research expenses. In general, it is not intended to support post-graduate study, although particularly appropriate proposals may be considered.

Ian McLean Wards

The scholarship honours the outstanding cultural contributions of the late Ian McLean Wards (1920-2003), Chief Government Historian between 1968 and 1983. A life member of the Archives and Records Association of New Zealand and the Friends of the Turnbull Library, Ian was also a stalwart of many other cultural and artistic organisations. He is widely remembered for his untiring campaigns to safeguard the nation's historical records and the integrity of the institutions holding them.

Terms of Award

1. The scholarship will usually be awarded annually, although the Trustees reserve the right to make no award if it is deemed in any year there is no proposal of sufficient merit, or to appropriately apportion the funds available if in any year more than one outstanding proposal is received.

2. The Trustees may, at their discretion, announce specific requirements when calling for applications in any particular year.

3. Applicants need not hold a university degree or diploma, but must provide evidence of ability to carry out research leading to a research report suitable for scholarly, professional, or popular publication, whether in print or electronic form.

4. The scholarship is open to all New Zealand residents.

5. Decisions relating to the award of the scholarship will be made by the executive committee of the Ian McLean Wards Memorial Trust, who may consult externally on the merit of particular research proposals received.

6. The scholarship will be paid according to a schedule agreed with the successful applicant.

7. A copy of the research report will be provided to the Ian McLean Wards Memorial Trust within a timeframe which shall be agreed between the Trust and the successful applicant prior to payment being made.

General Inquiries

General inquiries relating to the scholarship should in the first instance be directed to either the Trust Chairperson, Dr Brad Patterson (, or to the Trust Secretary, Mr A. L. Ferguson (

The Ian Wards Prize

This award, first offered in 2001, was named in honour of Ian Wards, former Chief Historian, Department of Internal Affairs. The Wards prize recognised an outstanding piece of published writing. This has been replaced by the Ian McLean Wards Scholarship (see above).

Year Awarded Recipient Publication Title
2001 Bary Gustafson His Way: A Biography of Robert Muldoon
2002 Jim McAloon No Idle Rich: the wealthy in Canterbury
& Otago, 1840-1914
2003 Philip Temple A Sort of Conscience
2004 Malcolm McKinnon Treasury: The New Zealand Treasury, 1840-2000
2005 Greg Ryan

The Making of New Zealand Cricket 1832-1914

2006 Melanie Nolan Kin : a collective biography of a working-class New Zealand
2007 not awarded
2008 not awarded

2009 Jock Phillips & T.J. Hearn Settlers: New Zealand immigrants from England, Oreland and Scotland, 1800-1945
2010 Adrian Humphris & Geoff Mew

Ring around the city: Wellington’s new suburbs, 1900-1930

2011 A.R.H. Jones

Doing well and doing good: Ross & Glendining, Scottish enterprise in New Zealand

MoST Content Management V3.0.6374